Tuesday, November 1, 2016


Pictured from left to right: Soror Natosha Gulley, Soror Kina Davis, President (displaying Soror Tyseanna Allen’s certificate – not pictured), and Soror Tanesh Buckner
In recognition of National Military Appreciation Week, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. Omicron Alpha Zeta Chapter recognized its members who have served or is currently serving in the U.S. Armed Forces. Omicron Alpha Zeta has three members who have served or is currently serving in the military. Soror Natosha Gulley served in the U.S. Army from 2003 to 2007. Soror Tanesh Buckner served in the U.S. Army from 1995 to 1998. Soror Tyseanna Allen serves in the U.S. Army Reserves from 2009 to present. Soror Kina Davis, President, presented certificates to each of the Chapter’s veterans. Thank you for your service!

Pictured from left to right: Soror Natosha Gulley and Soror Tanesh Buckner. Soror Tyseanna Allen (not pictured)

Phi Omicron Zeta - Toiletry Blessings Bags

For the Day of Service, Phi Omicron Zeta seven members and thirteen POZ youth auxiliary members got together to pack toiletry blessings bags, to give to Riverside Nursing Home, Rockdale Women Shelter, Rainbow Homeless Shelter, and  Bethlehem Baptist Church.Two hundred toiletry bags were packed. 

Epsilon Eta Zeta Chapter - Graduates Awarded Scholarships

Service, Education, Progress. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Epsilon Eta Zeta Chapter, Columbus, Georgia annually awards scholarships to deserving youth in our community.  The scholarship applicants exceeded the minimum qualifications and excelled in academics and community service.  We are pleased to announce our 2016 scholarship recipients.  

From left to right:    Ja'Nia Johnson; Kendrick High, Angel Rosser and Ashley Dorsey; Carver High.
Back Row Left To Right:   Mrs. Olivia Rutledge, Scholarship Chairperson, Briana Long, Smiths Station High, Latia Carter and Markeisha Wagner; Carver High,   Jaliyah Giles; Hardaway High, Keyon Davis; Northside High and Mrs. Brenda DeRamus, President of Epsilon Eta Zeta
Scholarship recipients not in the photo are Xaulyca Hall and Asia West; Jordan High; Raven Rivers; Central High, Chariena Woods; Kendrick High and Andrea D. Washington, Columbus State University.

The recipient of the Dr. Eunice S. Thomas Scholarship was Andrea D. Washington, Columbus State University.

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. congratulates these youth on their success and wishes them well in their future endeavors.

Beta Omega Zeta Chapter Participated in a Day of Service

The Beta Omega Zeta Chapter of Albany, Georgia participated in the 2016 Project Homeless Connect event that was held on November 15, 2016. The chapter members donated hygiene items such as washcloths, soaps, and socks to more than 500 hundred citizens in need.   The Beta Omega Zeta chapter was proud to represent Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.in Albany, Georgia, with a day of service for such a great cause. 

Zeta Day of Service: Lillian Carter Rehabilitation Center

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Omicron Alpha Zeta Chapter held their Zeta Day of Service Event at the Lillian Carter Rehabilitation Center in Plains, GA.  The seniors at the center was excited to see us when we arrived that morning.  We had the opportunity to take them into the activity room.  Once we were in the activity room, sorors began to hold conversations with them until the room was setup for bingo.  When bingo was setup, each soror was paired with two to three seniors to assist with them bingo.  Soror Kina Davis called the numbers.  The seniors were able to win some great prizes.  Some of the prizes were socks, body wash, lotion, soap, deodorant, puzzles, and drink bottle.  The seniors and the sorors had a fun filled morning.  We look forward to our upcoming Christmas party with them in December.

Eta Omega Zeta Breast Cancer Awareness Program

On Oct. 16, 2016 Eta Omega Zeta held a Breast Cancer Awareness Program during Greater Bethel A.M.E. Church morning service. Soror Kathryn Davis gave the congregation facts about breast cancer. After service there was a reception in the fellowship hall. A table was set up in the vestibule of the church with brochures on breast cancer and the effects of cancer in general, as well as some freebies.. Each person attending service receive a pin to wear with either hope, faith, courage or survivor on it. The members was asked to wear pink on that Sunday. The breast cancer survivors answered questions they felt comfortable in answering.

Xi Omega Zeta Weekend of Service for the Georgia Day of Service Campaign

The ladies of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated, Xi Omega Zeta Chapter (Warner Robins) kicked off the first week of November with the Weekend of Service with three community service projects as we celebrated the annual Georgia Day of Service.  On Thursday, November 3rd, 2016, Xi Omega Zeta collaborated with the Warner Robins chapter of the NPHC to collect food and cleaning supplies to benefit the Warner Robins Community Outreach Service Center. 

The Community Outreach Service Center is a non-profit organization that  was founded by Rev. John and Izzy Thomas in 1999 and serves as "A Haven For the Homeless".  Over the past few years, the Warner Robins NPHC chapter has collected and donated items to benefit the homeless families that are seeking assistance to become self-sufficient in all areas of their life.  Members of Xi Omega Zeta contributed 160 cleaning supplies to the total NPHC donation of 700 items to the organization. 

Our second community service project not only served as a our official Georgia Day of Service Project on Saturday, November 5th, but our launch to Military Appreciation Week as well. We collected over 2,689 toiletry items and created 100 care packages to benefit the homeless Veterans who receive services through the Carl Vinson VA Medical Center in Dublin, Georgia. 

Our collaboration with the Voluntary Services department at the CAVAMC will benefit over 100 male and female Veterans throughout the Middle Georgia area, especially near the Perry Clinic. We concluded our weekend of service  on Saturday by also collecting funds to donate sandwich bags for the State of Georgia USO Project. The sandwich bags will be used for snacks for Veterans that are deployed across the world. We truly enjoyed the camaraderie of working with these organizations for our weekend of service and certainly look forward to servicing our Veteran and Homeless population in the Middle Georgia area in the future.